MITL
Metropolitan Interclub Tennis League

Latest Headlines


New Teams for the 2019 Season
Congratulations to 2018 Barbara Williams Cup Participants & Winners!
Congratulations to 2018 Flight Winners!
Everything (almost) you need to know about the MITL website, but were afraid to ask...
How to Challenge a Call
Court of Appeals: False Stop
Court of Appeals: Clean Your Court!
Court of Appeals: Boxed In
Tennis elbow anyone?
CAPTAINS CAN NOW ADD PLAYERS TO THEIR ROSTERS AND VIEW SCHEDULES!!!
DON'T PULL OUT YOUR HAIR! Entering Your Roster is Easy... just follow these simple steps!
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING ROSTERS... TEAM ROSTERS DUE BY APRIL 15
CAPTAIN REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN!!!
REGISTER ONLINE NOW FOR THE SEASON OPENING ROUND ROBIN AND LUNCHEON
End of Season Celebrations
REGISTER NOW FOR THE BARBARA WILLIAMS CUP, JULY 9-10
FUNDRAISER INFO

Court of Appeals: Clean Your Court!

My opponent’s first serve hit the net and stayed in his service box during his second serve. After the point, I asked him in the future to please remove stray balls from the court. He told me he didn’t have to if he didn’t want to. I said he had to remove them if I requested. Who’s right?—Mario Patron, Helotes, TX

You are. The Code, Item 42, states that “whenever a ball is not in play, a player must honor an opponent’s request to remove a ball from the court or from an area outside the court that is reasonably close to the lines.” This is reiterated by USTA Comment 25.2.

Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Source: tennis.com



Online Scoring & League Management System
Copyright © 2000-2018. All rights reserved.