MITL
Metropolitan Interclub Tennis League

Latest Headlines


New Teams for the 2019 Season
Congratulations to 2018 Barbara Williams Cup Participants & Winners!
Congratulations to 2018 Flight Winners!
Everything (almost) you need to know about the MITL website, but were afraid to ask...
How to Challenge a Call
Court of Appeals: False Stop
Court of Appeals: Clean Your Court!
Court of Appeals: Boxed In
Tennis elbow anyone?
CAPTAINS CAN NOW ADD PLAYERS TO THEIR ROSTERS AND VIEW SCHEDULES!!!
DON'T PULL OUT YOUR HAIR! Entering Your Roster is Easy... just follow these simple steps!
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING ROSTERS... TEAM ROSTERS DUE BY APRIL 15
CAPTAIN REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN!!!
REGISTER ONLINE NOW FOR THE SEASON OPENING ROUND ROBIN AND LUNCHEON
End of Season Celebrations
REGISTER NOW FOR THE BARBARA WILLIAMS CUP, JULY 9-10
FUNDRAISER INFO

Court of Appeals: False Stop

I called a baseline shot “out” loudly at the same time as I returned it. My shot went in, but my opponent had stopped playing. I realized his shot had hit my baseline and reversed my call. I wanted to play a let since he had stopped play after my “out” call. Was I right?—Mark Jones, Champaign, IL

Not anymore. Up until the USTA approved a rule change in September 2010, a let would have resulted from the situation you described. But now The Code, Item 12, says that “a player who calls a ball out shall reverse the call if the player becomes uncertain or realizes that the ball was good. The point goes to the opponent and is not replayed.”

Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Source: tennis .com



Online Scoring & League Management System
Copyright © 2000-2018. All rights reserved.